fruit salad bowl

Cauliflower Fruit Salad with Banana-Peach Balsamic Dressing

I’ve come to the conclusion that my kitchen appliances don’t like me.

At all.

In my green smoothie bowl post, I mentioned the wonky fridge. But there’s only so much wonky-ness you can take. One minute, stuff in the freezer is rock-hard and yogurt in the fridge is icy; the next minute we’re dumping out rotten, chunky milk and soupy ice cream.

Enough was enough. So we got a replacement, and all is well.

Sadly, though, the damage was already done. The super ripe bananas and peaches I had frozen—having undergone cycles of freezing and defrosting—were basically a mushy, unrecognizable mess, good for one thing . . .

Smoothies.

balsamic vinegar
Balsamic vinegar . . . what’s not to love?

Or so I thought. Then, another idea occurred to me: how about softening the sorry-looking lumps in the microwave and combining them into a creamy dressing for a fruit salad? With balsamic mixed in? (Balsamic vinegar being one of my most favorite vinegars ever.) While I’m at it, why don’t I dump in fresh cauliflower with my fruit because I have a lot of cauliflower, and I want some veggie benefits to go along with my healthy fruit?

Needless to say, I went with my idea. Here is the result.

 

Cauliflower Fruit Salad with Banana-Peach Balsamic Dressing

Recipe by C. Marie

 

I have something to confess.

Salads never get old to me. Ever. Spring, summer, fall, winter—whatever the season, I’m always in a salad mood.

girl with weightsI love making them a part of my breakfast or brunch routine. Fruit salads in particular are my weakness, and I throw them together whenever I can. So, several days ago, after an intense bout of exercise, I was raring to put this salad together.

Now it’s your turn. (Let me know how it turns out.)

 

What I gathered together:

cauliflower

Salad:

½ an orange, peeled and sectioned from membrane

¼ cup berries (I used ¼ cup chopped strawberries)

¾ cup chopped cauliflower (I threw in the stalks with the florets)

Cauliflower note: I left my cauliflower raw, as I like the crunch of the cauliflower offsetting the tender berries and orange slices, but if you prefer to boil or steam your cauliflower for a few minutes, go right ahead.

Dressing:

1/8 really ripe banana, mashed

¼ really ripe peach, mashed

1 tablespoon balsamic vinegar

A dash or two of sea salt

A splash of oil

 

Nuts or seeds of your choice for sprinkling on finished dish (I used melon seeds I roasted previously)

 

How I threw it together:

In a bowl, combine orange slices, berries, and cauliflower florets and stalks. Set aside. Mash the banana and peach together until smooth; mix in the balsamic, sea salt, and oil.

Dressing note: I mashed my fruit on a plate with a fork, added the rest of the ingredients, and then stirred it up. Of course, you could throw all the dressing ingredients into a food processor, but me? You expect me to dig out the that thing, assemble it, plug it in, and then wash all the parts when all I want to do is stuff my face with food after working up a sweat?
victorian smiling lady
Oh, you droll person, you!

 

Let’s continue, shall we?

Pour the dressing over the cauliflower and fruit. Toss well. Taste and adjust seasonings. Sprinkle with nuts or seeds of your choice.

As soon as I started munching on this fruit salad, I knew I had a keeper. Strawberries, orange, cauliflower, and toasty seeds wrapped in a sweet and tangy amalgamation of banana, peach, and balsamic vinegar swarmed my tongue. All too soon, the salad was gone, my appetite was satisfied . . .

And I was ready for some more.

Add in Your Reply!

